**This is an old revision of the document!**

🎲 D4 Dice Pool

This system uses a pool of d4s to resolve most actions.

Each Aspect provides a dice pool equal to its value. Your capacity to act is limited during your turn by increasing your 🌀 Action Load, which typically resets to 0 at the start of your turn.

The d4s represent effort, attention, and precision. The more dice you spend, the harder it is to keep acting.


⚙️ Turn Structure and Action Load

At the start of your turn:

  • Set your Action Load to 0

When you take an action:

  1. Identify the relevant Aspect
  2. Subtract your Action Load from that Aspect’s value
  3. If the result is greater than 0, you can take the action
  4. Roll the dice and perform the action
  5. Add the action’s Cost (usually 1 or more) to your Action Load

You can keep acting as long as your adjusted Aspect value (Aspect − Action Load) remains positive and meets the action’s cost.


🎲 Rolling the Dice

For each action:

  • Roll d4s equal to: Aspect Value − Action Load
  • Also roll the action’s damage die (if any)

🧮 Add all dice together and declare the total.

The GM then either:

  • Subtracts the target’s Evasion (for attacks) → The remainder becomes damage dealt
  • Compares the total to a Difficulty Class (DC) → The action succeeds if the total meets or beats the DC

📘 Example: Your Finesse is 6 and your Action Load is 2. You want to use a dagger (1d4 damage). You roll 6 − 2 = 4d4 + 1d4 (damage). Your total is 14. The GM subtracts the target’s Evasion (e.g. 11), leaving 3 damage dealt.


🔚 Ending Your Turn

You can end your turn at any time, even if you have unused actions. Doing so:

  • May allow you to take a Team Action later
  • Reserves dice for reactions or interrupts

This encourages tactical planning and collaboration.


🤝 Acting on Other Turns

You may act during other players’ or enemies’ turns, if:

  • You have remaining dice in a relevant Aspect
  • The action is a valid response (e.g., reaction, counter, assist)

These actions:

  • Follow the same rules as normal actions
  • Use the current Action Load
  • Increase the Action Load afterward

📘 Example: A goblin attacks your ally. You still have 3 Control and an Action Load of 1. You use a Team Action (cost 1) to impose Disadvantage. The goblin rolls its attack with disadvantage and you add 1 to your Action Load.

📝 Unlike traditional systems, you are not limited to one reaction per round — act as often as your remaining dice allow.


📝 Additional Notes

  • If Aspect − Action Load ≤ 0, you cannot choose to act using that Aspect.
  • If the GM calls for a roll, you always roll at least 1d4, even with a negative Aspect.
    • GM-initiated rolls may or may not consider Action Load — this is up to the GM.
  • Some abilities have a Cost of 0 or use only 1d4, enabling small actions even late in the round.
  • You may take actions using different Aspects in the same turn.

✅ For a visual reference on how d4s support fast, intuitive math, see the D4 Math Tips Sidebar.