**This is an old revision of the document!**

โ† Core Stats 
 D4 Math Tips โ†’

๐ŸŽฒ D4 Dice Pool

This system uses a pool of d4s to resolve most actions.

Each Aspect provides a pool of dice equal to its value. Your capacity to act is reduced throughout the round by increasing your ๐ŸŒ€ Action Load, which typically resets to zero at the start of your turn.

The d4s represent your effort, precision, and attention โ€” and the dice you have left in an Aspect pool are what let you act.

โš™๏ธ Turn Structure and Action Load

At the start of your turn:

  • Set your Action Load to 0 (unless some other rule says different)

When you take an action:

  1. Identify the appropriate Aspect
  2. Subtract your current Action Load from that Aspectโ€™s value
  3. If the result is greater than zero, the action is allowed
  4. Perform the action and add its Cost (usually 1) to your Action Load

You can keep taking actions as long as your adjusted Aspect value (Aspect โˆ’ Action Load) is high enough to cover the actionโ€™s cost.

๐ŸŽฒ Rolling the Dice

When you take an action:

  • Roll a number of d4s equal to: Aspect Value โˆ’ Action Load
  • Also roll the damage die (if applicable)

๐Ÿงฎ Add all dice together and declare the total.

The GM subtracts the targetโ€™s Evasion (for attacks) or compares the result to a DC (for other actions).

  • If itโ€™s an attack, the remainder becomes the damage dealt.
  • If itโ€™s not an attack, the action succeeds if the total meets or beats the DC.

๐Ÿ”š Ending Your Turn

You may end your turn at any time, even if you have actions remaining.

  • Doing so may allow you to perform a Team Action
  • Or reserve dice for a reaction or interrupt ability

This allows for flexible tactical planning and encourages cooperation between players.

๐Ÿค Acting on Other Turns

You may take actions during other playersโ€™ turns (or enemy turns) if you have dice left in the relevant Aspect.

These actions:

  • Follow the same rules as normal actions
  • Subtract from the Aspect value using your current Action Load
  • Add to the Action Load after completing the action

Unlike D&D 5e, you are not limited to one reaction โ€” you can act as often as you have the dice for it.

๐Ÿ“ Additional Notes

  • If your Aspect value โˆ’ Action Load is 0 or less, you cannot initiate an action using that Aspect this round.
  • You may still take actions with other Aspects that have remaining dice.
  • If the GM calls for a roll, you always roll at least 1d4, even if the Aspect value is negative.
    • GM-called rolls may or may not count Action Load โ€” this is up to the GM.
  • Some minor abilities cost 0 or only 1d4, allowing for quick support or bonus-style actions.

>โœ… For a visual reference on how d4s make for quick mental math, see the D4 Pool Sidebar.