Differences
This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.
Both sides previous revisionPrevious revisionNext revision | Previous revision | ||
rules:dice_pool [2025/06/18 23:04] – Ron Helwig | rules:dice_pool [2025/07/08 00:10] (current) – Ron Helwig | ||
---|---|---|---|
Line 1: | Line 1: | ||
- | << rules:aspect_table | + | << rules:core_stats |
- | ====== | + | # 🎲 Taking Actions with the D4 Dice Pool |
- | This system | + | Most actions in this system |
- | ===== Overview ===== | + | Each **Aspect** provides a virtual dice pool equal to its value. Your capacity to act is limited during |
- | At the start of your turn, set your //Action Load// to zero. | + | |
- | When you want to take an action: | + | The d4s you roll represent **effort, attention, and precision**. The more dice you spend, the more effective |
- | - Determine which Aspect the action uses. | + | |
- | - Subtract your current //Action Load// from that Aspect’s value. | + | |
- | - If the result is greater than zero, you may take the action. | + | |
- | After performing the action: | + | --- |
- | | + | |
- | You may continue taking actions as long as your remaining Aspect values (after subtracting your //Action Load//) are both greater than zero and high enough to cover the action’s cost. | + | ## ⚙️ Turn Structure and Action Load |
- | ===== Dice Rolled ===== | + | At the **start of your turn**: |
- | When taking an action, roll: | + | - Reset your **Action Load** |
- | | + | |
- | | + | |
- | You add up all dice and declare the total. The GM subtracts the target’s Evasion or DC from that result. The remainder is how much damage or effect is applied (see [[rules:combat]]). | + | When you take an action: |
- | ===== Ending Your Turn ===== | + | 1. **Identify the relevant Aspect** |
- | You may end your turn at any time, even if you still have unused actions available. This may allow you to take a **Team Action** or a reaction-like ability | + | This depends |
- | ===== Notes ===== | + | 2. **Check if the action is allowed** |
- | | + | |
- | | + | - If the result is **greater than 0**, you may take the action. |
- | | + | - If the result is **0 or less**, you cannot take that action until your Load is reduced. |
+ | 3. **Determine your Net Advantage** | ||
+ | Add up all sources of **Advantage** and **Disadvantage** to find your **Net Advantage** for the roll. | ||
+ | |||
+ | 4. **Calculate how many d4s to roll** | ||
+ | - Start with: `Aspect – max(0, Action Load)` | ||
+ | - Add or subtract 1d4 for each point of **Net Advantage** | ||
+ | - You always roll **at least 1d4** | ||
+ | - Add any extra dice (such as a weapon' | ||
+ | |||
+ | 5. **Roll and resolve the action** | ||
+ | Apply the outcome based on your total roll and the action’s effect. | ||
+ | |||
+ | 6. **Increase your Action Load** | ||
+ | Add the action' | ||
+ | |||
+ | You can keep acting as long as your **Aspect − Action Load** remains **greater than zero** and meets the action’s cost. | ||
+ | |||
+ | <WRAP tip> | ||
+ | Instead of resetting Action Load at the beginning of a creature' | ||
+ | |||
+ | We will definitely be playtesting this idea. | ||
+ | </ | ||
+ | |||
+ | --- | ||
+ | |||
+ | ## ⚖️ Calculating Net Advantage | ||
+ | |||
+ | ### What is Advantage and Disadvantage? | ||
+ | |||
+ | **Advantage** is when something boosts your action. It might be an ability you have from a Feature, because of something in the environment, | ||
+ | |||
+ | **Disadvantage** is when something is hindering your action. | ||
+ | |||
+ | For each instance of Advantage that you have for a particular action, you can add a d4 to your Action Roll. | ||
+ | |||
+ | For each instance of Disadvantage that you have for a particular action, you subtract a d4 from your Action Roll. | ||
+ | |||
+ | Advantage and Disadvantage stack, unlike in D&D 5e and similar systems. This means you can get multiple d4s added to your rolls, but it also means that you could get multiple d4s removed from your rolls. | ||
+ | |||
+ | <WRAP important> | ||
+ | 🔁 **Note:** You can only gain **Advantage** or **Disadvantage** from a single source **once per action**. | ||
+ | Multiple effects from the **same ability**, feature, or condition do **not** stack. | ||
+ | <WRAP notice> | ||
+ | 📘 **Example: | ||
+ | </ | ||
+ | </ | ||
+ | |||
+ | Before making an Aspect Check or other Aspect-based roll, but after determining if the action can be taken, calculate the **Net Advantage**. This is the number of d4s you add to or subtract from your roll. | ||
+ | |||
+ | <WRAP notice> | ||
+ | Example: A character is trying to disable a trap so the game master has them make a Finesse Aspect Check. Their Finesse value is 4 and their Action Load is 0 - the d4 pool is 4. This trap is in a darkly lit dungeon which gives Disadvantage - the d4 pool is now 3. One of the other characters helps by holding a torch, giving Advantage - the d4 pool is now back to 4. Another character assists by peering over their shoulder and giving advice, granting another advantage - the pool is now 5. The player will roll 5d4. | ||
+ | </ | ||
+ | |||
+ | --- | ||
+ | |||
+ | ## 🎲 Resolving the Dice Roll | ||
+ | |||
+ | 🧮 Add all dice together and declare the total. | ||
+ | |||
+ | The GM then either: | ||
+ | |||
+ | - Subtracts the **target’s Evasion** (for attacks) | ||
+ | → The **remainder becomes damage dealt** | ||
+ | |||
+ | - Compares the total to a **Difficulty Class (DC)** | ||
+ | → The **action succeeds** if the total **meets or beats** the DC | ||
+ | |||
+ | <WRAP notice> | ||
+ | 📘 **Example: | ||
+ | Your Finesse is 6 and your Action Load is 2. You want to use a dagger (1d4 damage). | ||
+ | You roll 6 − 2 = **4d4** + **1d4** (damage). | ||
+ | Your total is 14. The GM subtracts the target’s Evasion (e.g. 11). The **remainder is damage dealt**. | ||
+ | </ | ||
+ | |||
+ | --- | ||
+ | |||
+ | ## 🔚 Ending Your Turn | ||
+ | |||
+ | You can **end your turn at any time**, even if you have unused actions. Doing so: | ||
+ | |||
+ | - May allow you to take a **Team Action** later | ||
+ | - Reserves dice for **reactions** or **interrupts** | ||
+ | |||
+ | This encourages tactical planning and collaboration. | ||
+ | |||
+ | --- | ||
+ | |||
+ | ## 🤝 Acting on Other Turns | ||
+ | |||
+ | You may act during **other players’ or enemies’ turns**, if: | ||
+ | |||
+ | - You have remaining dice in a relevant Aspect | ||
+ | - The action is a valid response (e.g., reaction, counter, assist) | ||
+ | |||
+ | These actions: | ||
+ | |||
+ | - Follow the same rules as normal actions | ||
+ | - Use the **current Action Load** | ||
+ | - Increase the **Action Load** afterward | ||
+ | |||
+ | Since your Action Load won’t reset until your next turn, acting during another creature’s turn means you’ll have fewer dice available later. | ||
+ | |||
+ | <WRAP notice> | ||
+ | 📘 **Example: | ||
+ | A goblin attacks your ally. You have an Action Load of 1. | ||
+ | You use a Team Action (cost 1) to impose Disadvantage. | ||
+ | The goblin rolls its attack with disadvantage and you add 1 to your Action Load. | ||
+ | </ | ||
+ | |||
+ | <WRAP tip> | ||
+ | 📝 Unlike traditional systems, you are **not limited to one reaction per round** — act as often as your remaining dice allow. | ||
+ | </ | ||
+ | |||
+ | --- | ||
+ | |||
+ | ## 📝 Additional Notes | ||
+ | |||
+ | - If **Aspect − Action Load ≤ 0**, you **cannot choose** to act using that Aspect. | ||
+ | - If the **GM calls for a roll**, you always roll at least **1d4**, even with a negative Aspect. | ||
+ | - GM-initiated rolls may or may not consider Action Load — this is up to the GM. | ||
+ | - Some abilities have a **Cost of 0 or 1**, enabling small actions even late in the round. | ||
+ | - You may take actions using **different Aspects** in the same turn. | ||
+ | |||
+ | --- | ||
+ | |||
+ | <WRAP tip> | ||
+ | ✅ For a visual reference on how d4s support fast, intuitive math, see the [[rules: | ||
+ | </ |