Differences
This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.
Both sides previous revisionPrevious revision | |||
rules:dice_pool [2025/07/08 00:04] – Ron Helwig | rules:dice_pool [2025/07/08 00:10] (current) – Ron Helwig | ||
---|---|---|---|
Line 1: | Line 1: | ||
<< rules: | << rules: | ||
- | # 🎲 D4 Dice Pool | + | # 🎲 Taking Actions with the D4 Dice Pool |
Most actions in this system are resolved by rolling a **pool of d4s**, determined by your character’s Aspects and the situation. | Most actions in this system are resolved by rolling a **pool of d4s**, determined by your character’s Aspects and the situation. | ||
Line 40: | Line 40: | ||
Add the action' | Add the action' | ||
- | You can keep acting as long as your adjusted Aspect value (**Aspect − Action Load**) remains | + | You can keep acting as long as your **Aspect − Action Load** remains |
<WRAP tip> | <WRAP tip> | ||
Line 75: | Line 75: | ||
<WRAP notice> | <WRAP notice> | ||
- | Example: A character is trying to disable a trap so the game master has them make a Finesse Aspect Check. Their Finesse value is 4 and their Action Load is 0 - the d4 pool is 4. This trap is in a darkly lit dungeon which gives Disadvantage - the d4 pool is now 3. One of the other characters helps by holding a torch, giving Advantage - the d4 pool is now back to 4. Another character assists by peering over their shoulder and giving advice, | + | Example: A character is trying to disable a trap so the game master has them make a Finesse Aspect Check. Their Finesse value is 4 and their Action Load is 0 - the d4 pool is 4. This trap is in a darkly lit dungeon which gives Disadvantage - the d4 pool is now 3. One of the other characters helps by holding a torch, giving Advantage - the d4 pool is now back to 4. Another character assists by peering over their shoulder and giving advice, |
</ | </ | ||
Line 96: | Line 96: | ||
Your Finesse is 6 and your Action Load is 2. You want to use a dagger (1d4 damage). | Your Finesse is 6 and your Action Load is 2. You want to use a dagger (1d4 damage). | ||
You roll 6 − 2 = **4d4** + **1d4** (damage). | You roll 6 − 2 = **4d4** + **1d4** (damage). | ||
- | Your total is 14. The GM subtracts the target’s Evasion (e.g. 11), leaving | + | Your total is 14. The GM subtracts the target’s Evasion (e.g. 11). The **remainder is damage dealt**. |
</ | </ | ||
Line 125: | Line 125: | ||
- Increase the **Action Load** afterward | - Increase the **Action Load** afterward | ||
- | Your Action Load does not reset until your next turn, so acting | + | Since your Action Load won’t |
<WRAP notice> | <WRAP notice> |