Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

Both sides previous revisionPrevious revision
Next revision
Previous revision
rules:dice_pool [2025/07/02 18:28] – Ron Helwigrules:dice_pool [2025/07/08 00:10] (current) – Ron Helwig
Line 1: Line 1:
-# 🎲 D4 Dice Pool+<< rules:core_stats ^ rules:start ^ rules:sidebar_d4_math >> 
 +# 🎲 Taking Actions with the D4 Dice Pool
  
-This system uses pool of **d4s** to resolve most actions.+Most actions in this system are resolved by rolling a **pool of d4s**, determined by your character’s Aspects and the situation.
  
-Each **Aspect** provides a dice pool equal to its value. Your capacity to act is limited during your turn by increasing your **🌀 Action Load**, which typically resets to at the start of your turn.+Each **Aspect** provides a virtual dice pool equal to its value. Your capacity to act is limited during your turn by increasing your **🌀 Action Load** as you take actions. This Action Load typically resets to a negative value at the start of your turn.
  
-The d4s represent **effort, attention, and precision**. The more dice you spend, the harder it is to keep acting.+The d4s you roll represent **effort, attention, and precision**. The more dice you spend, the more effective you are but the harder it is to keep acting.
  
 --- ---
Line 12: Line 13:
  
 At the **start of your turn**: At the **start of your turn**:
-Set your **Action Load** to **0**+Reset your **Action Load** to **0 - your Action Point Bonus**
  
 When you take an action: When you take an action:
  
-1. Identify the relevant **Aspect** +1. **Identify the relevant Aspect**  Â 
-2. Subtract your **Action Load** from that Aspect’s value +   This depends on what you're trying to do—see the [Aspect Table](rules:aspect_table).
-3. If the result is **greater than 0**, you can take the action +
-4. Roll the dice and perform the action +
-5. Add the action’s **Cost** (usually 1to your Action Load+
  
-You can keep acting as long as your adjusted Aspect value (**Aspect − Action Load**remains positive and meets the action'Cost.+2. **Check if the action is allowed**   
 +   Subtract your current **Action Load** from the relevant **Aspect**.   
 +   - If the result is **greater than 0**, you may take the action.   
 +   - If the result is **0 or less**, you cannot take that action until your Load is reduced. 
 + 
 +3. **Determine your Net Advantage**   
 +   Add up all sources of **Advantage** and **Disadvantage** to find your **Net Advantage** for the roll. 
 + 
 +4. **Calculate how many d4s to roll**   
 +   - Start with: `Aspect – max(0, Action Load)`   
 +   - Add or subtract 1d4 for each point of **Net Advantage**   
 +   - You always roll **at least 1d4**   
 +   - Add any extra dice (such as a weapon's **1d8**) as required by the action 
 + 
 +5. **Roll and resolve the action**   
 +   Apply the outcome based on your total roll and the action’s effect. 
 + 
 +6. **Increase your Action Load**   
 +   Add the action's **Cost** (usually 1 or more) to your **Action Load**. 
 + 
 +You can keep acting as long as your **Aspect − Action Load** remains **greater than zero** and meets the action’s cost. 
 + 
 +<WRAP tip> 
 +Instead of resetting Action Load at the beginning of a creature'**turn**, an alternative is to reset *everyone's* Action Load to zero at the beginning of each **round**. This will affect when and by how much creatures (characters, NPCs, and monsters) can take reactions. 
 + 
 +We will definitely be playtesting this idea. 
 +</WRAP>
  
 --- ---
  
-## đŸŽ˛ Rolling the Dice+## âš–️ Calculating Net Advantage
  
-For each action:+### What is Advantage and Disadvantage?
  
-- Roll **d4s** equal to:   +**Advantage** is when something boosts your action. It might be an ability you have from a Feature, because of something in the environment, a friend assisting you, or something else.
-  **Aspect Value − Action Load**+
  
-Also roll the action’s **damage die** (if any)+**Disadvantage** is when something is hindering your action. 
 + 
 +For each instance of Advantage that you have for a particular action, you can add a d4 to your Action Roll. 
 + 
 +For each instance of Disadvantage that you have for a particular action, you subtract a d4 from your Action Roll. 
 + 
 +Advantage and Disadvantage stack, unlike in D&D 5e and similar systems. This means you can get multiple d4s added to your rolls, but it also means that you could get multiple d4s removed from your rolls. 
 + 
 +<WRAP important> 
 +🔁 **Note:** You can only gain **Advantage** or **Disadvantage** from a single source **once per action**.   
 +Multiple effects from the **same ability**, feature, or condition do **not** stack. 
 +<WRAP notice> 
 +📘 **Example:** If two allies both use the *“Watch My Back”* feature to give you Advantage on your next roll, you still only gain **+1d4**—because both effects come from the same source. 
 +</WRAP> 
 +</WRAP> 
 + 
 +Before making an Aspect Check or other Aspect-based roll, but after determining if the action can be taken, calculate the **Net Advantage**. This is the number of d4s you add to or subtract from your roll. 
 + 
 +<WRAP notice> 
 +Example: A character is trying to disable a trap so the game master has them make a Finesse Aspect Check. Their Finesse value is 4 and their Action Load is 0 - the d4 pool is 4. This trap is in a darkly lit dungeon which gives Disadvantage - the d4 pool is now 3. One of the other characters helps by holding a torch, giving Advantage - the d4 pool is now back to 4. Another character assists by peering over their shoulder and giving advice, granting another advantage - the pool is now 5. The player will roll 5d4. 
 +</WRAP> 
 + 
 +--- 
 + 
 +## 🎲 Resolving the Dice Roll
  
 đŸ§Ž Add all dice together and declare the total. đŸ§Ž Add all dice together and declare the total.
Line 44: Line 91:
 - Compares the total to a **Difficulty Class (DC)**   - Compares the total to a **Difficulty Class (DC)**  
   → The **action succeeds** if the total **meets or beats** the DC   → The **action succeeds** if the total **meets or beats** the DC
 +
 +<WRAP notice>
 +📘 **Example:**  
 +Your Finesse is 6 and your Action Load is 2. You want to use a dagger (1d4 damage).  
 +You roll 6 − 2 = **4d4** + **1d4** (damage).  
 +Your total is 14. The GM subtracts the target’s Evasion (e.g. 11). The **remainder is damage dealt**.
 +</WRAP>
  
 --- ---
Line 51: Line 105:
 You can **end your turn at any time**, even if you have unused actions. Doing so: You can **end your turn at any time**, even if you have unused actions. Doing so:
  
-- May allow you to take a **Team Action** later+- May allow you to take a **Team Action** later  
 - Reserves dice for **reactions** or **interrupts** - Reserves dice for **reactions** or **interrupts**
  
Line 62: Line 116:
 You may act during **other players’ or enemies’ turns**, if: You may act during **other players’ or enemies’ turns**, if:
  
-- You have remaining dice in a relevant Aspect +- You have remaining dice in a relevant Aspect  Â 
-- The action is a valid response (e.g. reaction, counter, assist)+- The action is a valid response (e.g.reaction, counter, assist)
  
 These actions: These actions:
  
-- Follow the same rules as normal actions +- Follow the same rules as normal actions  Â 
-- Use the **current Action Load** +- Use the **current Action Load**  Â 
-- Increase the Action Load afterward+- Increase the **Action Load** afterward
  
-Unlike traditional systems, you are **not limited to one reaction per round** — act as often as your remaining dice allow.+Since your Action Load won’t reset until your next turn, acting during another creature’s turn means you’ll have fewer dice available later. 
 + 
 +<WRAP notice> 
 +📘 **Example:**   
 +A goblin attacks your ally. You have an Action Load of 1.   
 +You use a Team Action (cost 1) to impose Disadvantage.   
 +The goblin rolls its attack with disadvantage and you add 1 to your Action Load. 
 +</WRAP> 
 + 
 +<WRAP tip> 
 +📝 Unlike traditional systems, you are **not limited to one reaction per round** — act as often as your remaining dice allow. 
 +</WRAP>
  
 --- ---
Line 78: Line 143:
  
 - If **Aspect − Action Load ≤ 0**, you **cannot choose** to act using that Aspect. - If **Aspect − Action Load ≤ 0**, you **cannot choose** to act using that Aspect.
-- If the **GM calls for a roll**, you always roll at least **1d4**, even with a negative Aspect.+- If the **GM calls for a roll**, you always roll at least **1d4**, even with a negative Aspect.  
   - GM-initiated rolls may or may not consider Action Load — this is up to the GM.   - GM-initiated rolls may or may not consider Action Load — this is up to the GM.
-- Some abilities have a **Cost of 0** or use only **1d4**, enabling small actions even late in the round.+- Some abilities have a **Cost of 0 or 1**, enabling small actions even late in the round.
 - You may take actions using **different Aspects** in the same turn. - You may take actions using **different Aspects** in the same turn.
  
 --- ---
  
-> ✅ For a visual reference on how d4s support fast, intuitive math, see the [[rules:sidebar_d4_math|D4 Pool Sidebar]]. +<WRAP tip> 
 +✅ For a visual reference on how d4s support fast, intuitive math, see the [[rules:sidebar_d4_math|D4 Math Tips Sidebar]]. 
 +</WRAP>