Differences
This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.
Both sides previous revisionPrevious revisionNext revision | Previous revision | ||
rules:dice_pool [2025/06/22 18:40] – Ron Helwig | rules:dice_pool [2025/07/08 00:10] (current) – Ron Helwig | ||
---|---|---|---|
Line 1: | Line 1: | ||
- | << rules:aspect_table | + | << rules:core_stats |
- | # 🎲 D4 Dice Pool | + | # 🎲 Taking Actions with the D4 Dice Pool |
- | This system | + | Most actions in this system |
- | Each Aspect provides a pool of dice equal to its value. Your capacity to act is reduced throughout the round by increasing your **🌀 Action Load**, which resets to zero at the start of your turn. | + | Each **Aspect** provides a virtual |
- | The d4s represent **your effort, | + | The d4s you roll represent **effort, |
+ | |||
+ | --- | ||
## ⚙️ Turn Structure and Action Load | ## ⚙️ Turn Structure and Action Load | ||
At the **start of your turn**: | At the **start of your turn**: | ||
- | + | - Reset your **Action Load** to **0 - your Action Point Bonus** | |
- | - Set your **Action Load** to **0** | + | |
When you take an action: | When you take an action: | ||
- | 1. Identify the appropriate **Aspect** | + | 1. **Identify the relevant |
- | 2. Subtract your current **Action Load** from that Aspect’s value | + | This depends on what you're trying to do—see the [Aspect |
- | 3. If the result is **greater than zero**, the action is allowed | + | |
- | 4. Perform the action and **add its Cost** | + | |
- | You can keep taking actions as long as your **adjusted Aspect value** (Aspect − Action Load) is high enough to cover the action’s cost. | + | 2. **Check if the action is allowed** |
+ | | ||
+ | - If the result | ||
+ | - If the result is **0 or less**, you cannot take that action until your Load is reduced. | ||
- | ## 🎲 Rolling | + | 3. **Determine your Net Advantage** |
+ | Add up all sources of **Advantage** and **Disadvantage** to find your **Net Advantage** for the roll. | ||
- | When you take an action: | + | 4. **Calculate how many d4s to roll** |
+ | - Start with: `Aspect – max(0, Action Load)` | ||
+ | - Add or subtract 1d4 for each point of **Net Advantage** | ||
+ | - You always roll **at least 1d4** | ||
+ | - Add any extra dice (such as a weapon' | ||
- | - Roll a number of **d4s** equal to: | + | 5. **Roll and resolve the action** |
- | **Aspect | + | Apply the outcome based on your total roll and the action’s effect. |
- | - Also roll the **damage die** (if applicable) | + | |
+ | 6. **Increase your Action Load** | ||
+ | Add the action' | ||
+ | |||
+ | You can keep acting as long as your **Aspect − Action Load** | ||
+ | |||
+ | <WRAP tip> | ||
+ | Instead of resetting Action Load at the beginning of a creature' | ||
+ | |||
+ | We will definitely be playtesting this idea. | ||
+ | </ | ||
+ | |||
+ | --- | ||
+ | |||
+ | ## ⚖️ Calculating Net Advantage | ||
+ | |||
+ | ### What is Advantage and Disadvantage? | ||
+ | |||
+ | **Advantage** is when something boosts your action. It might be an ability you have from a Feature, because of something in the environment, | ||
+ | |||
+ | **Disadvantage** is when something is hindering your action. | ||
+ | |||
+ | For each instance of Advantage that you have for a particular action, you can add a d4 to your Action Roll. | ||
+ | |||
+ | For each instance of Disadvantage that you have for a particular action, you subtract a d4 from your Action Roll. | ||
+ | |||
+ | Advantage and Disadvantage stack, unlike in D&D 5e and similar systems. This means you can get multiple d4s added to your rolls, but it also means that you could get multiple d4s removed from your rolls. | ||
+ | |||
+ | <WRAP important> | ||
+ | 🔁 **Note:** You can only gain **Advantage** or **Disadvantage** from a single source **once per action**. | ||
+ | Multiple effects from the **same ability**, feature, or condition do **not** stack. | ||
+ | <WRAP notice> | ||
+ | 📘 **Example: | ||
+ | </ | ||
+ | </ | ||
+ | |||
+ | Before making an Aspect Check or other Aspect-based roll, but after determining if the action can be taken, calculate the **Net Advantage**. This is the number of d4s you add to or subtract from your roll. | ||
+ | |||
+ | <WRAP notice> | ||
+ | Example: A character is trying to disable a trap so the game master has them make a Finesse Aspect Check. Their Finesse value is 4 and their Action Load is 0 - the d4 pool is 4. This trap is in a darkly lit dungeon which gives Disadvantage - the d4 pool is now 3. One of the other characters helps by holding a torch, giving Advantage - the d4 pool is now back to 4. Another character assists by peering over their shoulder and giving advice, granting another advantage - the pool is now 5. The player will roll 5d4. | ||
+ | </ | ||
+ | |||
+ | --- | ||
+ | |||
+ | ## 🎲 Resolving the Dice Roll | ||
🧮 Add all dice together and declare the total. | 🧮 Add all dice together and declare the total. | ||
- | The GM **subtracts the target’s Evasion** (for attacks) | + | The GM then either: |
- | * If it’s an attack, the **remainder becomes the damage dealt**. | + | |
- | * If it’s not an attack, the action **succeeds | + | - Subtracts the **target’s Evasion** (for attacks) |
+ | → The **remainder becomes damage dealt** | ||
+ | |||
+ | - Compares | ||
+ | → The **action | ||
+ | |||
+ | <WRAP notice> | ||
+ | 📘 **Example: | ||
+ | Your Finesse is 6 and your Action Load is 2. You want to use a dagger (1d4 damage). | ||
+ | You roll 6 − 2 = **4d4** + **1d4** (damage). | ||
+ | Your total is 14. The GM subtracts the target’s Evasion (e.g. 11). The **remainder is damage dealt**. | ||
+ | </ | ||
+ | |||
+ | --- | ||
## 🔚 Ending Your Turn | ## 🔚 Ending Your Turn | ||
- | You may end your turn at any time, even if you have actions | + | You can **end your turn at any time**, even if you have unused |
- | - Doing so may allow you to perform | + | - May allow you to take a **Team Action** |
- | - Or reserve | + | - Reserves |
- | This allows for flexible | + | This encourages |
+ | |||
+ | --- | ||
## 🤝 Acting on Other Turns | ## 🤝 Acting on Other Turns | ||
- | You may take actions | + | You may act during **other players’ or enemies’ turns**, if: |
+ | |||
+ | - You have remaining | ||
+ | - The action is a valid response (e.g., reaction, counter, assist) | ||
These actions: | These actions: | ||
- | - Follow the **same rules** as normal actions | + | - Follow the same rules as normal actions |
- | - Subtract from the **Aspect value** using your current | + | - Use the **current Action Load** |
- | - **Add to the Action Load** | + | - Increase the **Action Load** afterward |
+ | |||
+ | Since your Action Load won’t reset until your next turn, acting during another creature’s turn means you’ll have fewer dice available later. | ||
+ | |||
+ | <WRAP notice> | ||
+ | 📘 **Example: | ||
+ | A goblin attacks your ally. You have an Action Load of 1. | ||
+ | You use a Team Action (cost 1) to impose Disadvantage. | ||
+ | The goblin rolls its attack with disadvantage and you add 1 to your Action Load. | ||
+ | </ | ||
+ | |||
+ | <WRAP tip> | ||
+ | 📝 Unlike traditional systems, you are **not limited to one reaction per round** — act as often as your remaining dice allow. | ||
+ | </ | ||
- | Unlike D&D 5e, you are **not limited to one reaction** — you can act as often as you have the dice for it. | + | --- |
## 📝 Additional Notes | ## 📝 Additional Notes | ||
- | - If your Aspect | + | - If **Aspect − Action Load ≤ 0**, you **cannot |
- | - You may still take actions with other Aspects that have remaining dice. | + | - If the **GM calls for a roll**, you always roll at least **1d4**, even with a negative |
- | - If the **GM calls for a roll**, you always roll **at least 1d4**, even if the Aspect | + | - GM-initiated |
- | - GM-called | + | - Some abilities |
- | - Some **minor | + | - You may take actions |
- | > ✅ For a visual reference on how d4s make for quick mental math, see the [[rules: | + | --- |
+ | <WRAP tip> | ||
+ | ✅ For a visual reference on how d4s support fast, intuitive math, see the [[rules: | ||
+ | </ |