Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

Both sides previous revisionPrevious revision
Next revision
Previous revision
rules:dice_pool [2025/06/18 23:09] Ron Helwigrules:dice_pool [2025/07/08 00:10] (current) Ron Helwig
Line 1: Line 1:
-<< rules:aspect_table ^ rules:start ^ rules:checks >> +<< rules:core_stats ^ rules:start ^ rules:sidebar_d4_math >> 
-====== D4 Dice Pool ======+# 🎲 Taking Actions with the D4 Dice Pool
  
-This system uses dice pool of d4s to resolve most actions. These dice represent your character'available effort and precision within a turn, based on their Aspects. You keep track of your ability to take actions by tracking your //Action Load//, which gets reset to zero at the beginning of your turn.+Most actions in this system are resolved by rolling **pool of d4s**, determined by your characterAspects and the situation.
  
-This //Action Load// represents the total amount of effort you have spent in a round.+Each **Aspect** provides a virtual dice pool equal to its value. Your capacity to act is limited during your turn by increasing your **🌀 Action Load** as you take actions. This Action Load typically resets to a negative value at the start of your turn.
  
-===== Overview ===== +The d4s you roll represent **effortattention, and precision**. The more dice you spend, the more effective you are but the harder it is to keep acting.
-At the start of your turnset your //Action Load// to zero.+
  
-When you want to take an action: +---
-  Determine which Aspect the action uses. +
-  Subtract your current //Action Load// from that Aspect’s value. +
-  If the result is greater than zero, you may take the action.+
  
-After performing the action: +## ⚙️ Turn Structure and Action Load
-  - Add that action's **Cost** (usually 1) to your //Action Load//.+
  
-You may continue taking actions as long as your remaining Aspect values (after subtracting your //Action Load//) are both greater than zero and high enough to cover the action’s cost.+At the **start of your turn**: 
 +- Reset your **Action Load** to **0 - your Action Point Bonus**
  
-===== Dice Rolled ===== +When you take an action:
-When taking an action, roll: +
-  * A number of **d4s equal to the Aspect value minus the //Action Load//**. +
-  * The appropriate **damage die**, if applicable.+
  
-You add up all dice and declare the totalThe GM subtracts the target’s Evasion or DC from that result. The remainder is how much damage or effect is applied (see [[rules:combat]]).+1**Identify the relevant Aspect**   
 +   This depends on what you're trying to do—see the [Aspect Table](rules:aspect_table).
  
-===== Ending Your Turn ===== +2. **Check if the action is allowed**   
-You may end your turn at any timeeven if you still have unused actions available. This may allow you to take **Team Action** or a reaction-like ability on another player's turn.+   Subtract your current **Action Load** from the relevant **Aspect**.   
 +   - If the result is **greater than 0**, you may take the action.   
 +   - If the result is **0 or less**, you cannot take that action until your Load is reduced.
  
-===== Notes ===== +3. **Determine your Net Advantage**   
-  If the Aspect value gets reduced to 0 or less by your //Action Load//, you cannot initiate an action using that Aspect. That doesn't prevent you from taking actions using other Aspects that have higher values and meet that challenge. +   Add up all sources of **Advantage** and **Disadvantage** to find your **Net Advantage** for the roll.
-  However, if the GM calls for a roll using an Aspect, you always roll at least 1d4 even if that Aspect's value is zero or negative. GM called rolls typically don't require you to reduce the Aspect value by the //Action Load// unless the GM says it does. +
-  * Some minor abilities may cost 0 or only 1 d4, functioning similarly to D&D’s bonus actions.+
  
 +4. **Calculate how many d4s to roll**  
 +   - Start with: `Aspect – max(0, Action Load)`  
 +   - Add or subtract 1d4 for each point of **Net Advantage**  
 +   - You always roll **at least 1d4**  
 +   - Add any extra dice (such as a weapon's **1d8**) as required by the action
 +
 +5. **Roll and resolve the action**  
 +   Apply the outcome based on your total roll and the action’s effect.
 +
 +6. **Increase your Action Load**  
 +   Add the action's **Cost** (usually 1 or more) to your **Action Load**.
 +
 +You can keep acting as long as your **Aspect − Action Load** remains **greater than zero** and meets the action’s cost.
 +
 +<WRAP tip>
 +Instead of resetting Action Load at the beginning of a creature's **turn**, an alternative is to reset *everyone's* Action Load to zero at the beginning of each **round**. This will affect when and by how much creatures (characters, NPCs, and monsters) can take reactions.
 +
 +We will definitely be playtesting this idea.
 +</WRAP>
 +
 +---
 +
 +## ⚖️ Calculating Net Advantage
 +
 +### What is Advantage and Disadvantage?
 +
 +**Advantage** is when something boosts your action. It might be an ability you have from a Feature, because of something in the environment, a friend assisting you, or something else.
 +
 +**Disadvantage** is when something is hindering your action.
 +
 +For each instance of Advantage that you have for a particular action, you can add a d4 to your Action Roll.
 +
 +For each instance of Disadvantage that you have for a particular action, you subtract a d4 from your Action Roll.
 +
 +Advantage and Disadvantage stack, unlike in D&D 5e and similar systems. This means you can get multiple d4s added to your rolls, but it also means that you could get multiple d4s removed from your rolls.
 +
 +<WRAP important>
 +🔁 **Note:** You can only gain **Advantage** or **Disadvantage** from a single source **once per action**.  
 +Multiple effects from the **same ability**, feature, or condition do **not** stack.
 +<WRAP notice>
 +📘 **Example:** If two allies both use the *“Watch My Back”* feature to give you Advantage on your next roll, you still only gain **+1d4**—because both effects come from the same source.
 +</WRAP>
 +</WRAP>
 +
 +Before making an Aspect Check or other Aspect-based roll, but after determining if the action can be taken, calculate the **Net Advantage**. This is the number of d4s you add to or subtract from your roll.
 +
 +<WRAP notice>
 +Example: A character is trying to disable a trap so the game master has them make a Finesse Aspect Check. Their Finesse value is 4 and their Action Load is 0 - the d4 pool is 4. This trap is in a darkly lit dungeon which gives Disadvantage - the d4 pool is now 3. One of the other characters helps by holding a torch, giving Advantage - the d4 pool is now back to 4. Another character assists by peering over their shoulder and giving advice, granting another advantage - the pool is now 5. The player will roll 5d4.
 +</WRAP>
 +
 +---
 +
 +## 🎲 Resolving the Dice Roll
 +
 +🧮 Add all dice together and declare the total.
 +
 +The GM then either:
 +
 +- Subtracts the **target’s Evasion** (for attacks)  
 +  → The **remainder becomes damage dealt**
 +
 +- Compares the total to a **Difficulty Class (DC)**  
 +  → The **action succeeds** if the total **meets or beats** the DC
 +
 +<WRAP notice>
 +📘 **Example:**  
 +Your Finesse is 6 and your Action Load is 2. You want to use a dagger (1d4 damage).  
 +You roll 6 − 2 = **4d4** + **1d4** (damage).  
 +Your total is 14. The GM subtracts the target’s Evasion (e.g. 11). The **remainder is damage dealt**.
 +</WRAP>
 +
 +---
 +
 +## 🔚 Ending Your Turn
 +
 +You can **end your turn at any time**, even if you have unused actions. Doing so:
 +
 +- May allow you to take a **Team Action** later  
 +- Reserves dice for **reactions** or **interrupts**
 +
 +This encourages tactical planning and collaboration.
 +
 +---
 +
 +## 🤝 Acting on Other Turns
 +
 +You may act during **other players’ or enemies’ turns**, if:
 +
 +- You have remaining dice in a relevant Aspect  
 +- The action is a valid response (e.g., reaction, counter, assist)
 +
 +These actions:
 +
 +- Follow the same rules as normal actions  
 +- Use the **current Action Load**  
 +- Increase the **Action Load** afterward
 +
 +Since your Action Load won’t reset until your next turn, acting during another creature’s turn means you’ll have fewer dice available later.
 +
 +<WRAP notice>
 +📘 **Example:**  
 +A goblin attacks your ally. You have an Action Load of 1.  
 +You use a Team Action (cost 1) to impose Disadvantage.  
 +The goblin rolls its attack with disadvantage and you add 1 to your Action Load.
 +</WRAP>
 +
 +<WRAP tip>
 +📝 Unlike traditional systems, you are **not limited to one reaction per round** — act as often as your remaining dice allow.
 +</WRAP>
 +
 +---
 +
 +## 📝 Additional Notes
 +
 +- If **Aspect − Action Load ≤ 0**, you **cannot choose** to act using that Aspect.
 +- If the **GM calls for a roll**, you always roll at least **1d4**, even with a negative Aspect.  
 +  - GM-initiated rolls may or may not consider Action Load — this is up to the GM.
 +- Some abilities have a **Cost of 0 or 1**, enabling small actions even late in the round.
 +- You may take actions using **different Aspects** in the same turn.
 +
 +---
 +
 +<WRAP tip>
 +✅ For a visual reference on how d4s support fast, intuitive math, see the [[rules:sidebar_d4_math|D4 Math Tips Sidebar]].
 +</WRAP>