Differences
This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.
Both sides previous revisionPrevious revisionNext revision | Previous revision | ||
rules:dice_pool [2025/06/18 22:34] – Ron Helwig | rules:dice_pool [2025/07/08 00:10] (current) – Ron Helwig | ||
---|---|---|---|
Line 1: | Line 1: | ||
- | << rules:aspect_table | + | << rules:core_stats |
- | ====== | + | # 🎲 Taking Actions with the D4 Dice Pool |
- | explain how the dice pool works, using Aspects | + | |
+ | Most actions in this system are resolved by rolling a **pool of d4s**, determined by your character’s Aspects and the situation. | ||
+ | |||
+ | Each **Aspect** provides a virtual | ||
+ | |||
+ | The d4s you roll represent **effort, attention, and precision**. The more dice you spend, the more effective you are but the harder it is to keep acting. | ||
+ | |||
+ | --- | ||
+ | |||
+ | ## ⚙️ Turn Structure and Action Load | ||
+ | |||
+ | At the **start of your turn**: | ||
+ | - Reset your **Action Load** to **0 - your Action Point Bonus** | ||
+ | |||
+ | When you take an action: | ||
+ | |||
+ | 1. **Identify the relevant Aspect** | ||
+ | This depends on what you're trying to do—see the [Aspect Table](rules: | ||
+ | |||
+ | 2. **Check if the action is allowed** | ||
+ | | ||
+ | - If the result is **greater than 0**, you may take the action. | ||
+ | - If the result is **0 or less**, you cannot take that action until your Load is reduced. | ||
+ | |||
+ | 3. **Determine your Net Advantage** | ||
+ | Add up all sources of **Advantage** and **Disadvantage** to find your **Net Advantage** for the roll. | ||
+ | |||
+ | 4. **Calculate how many d4s to roll** | ||
+ | - Start with: `Aspect – max(0, Action Load)` | ||
+ | - Add or subtract 1d4 for each point of **Net Advantage** | ||
+ | - You always roll **at least 1d4** | ||
+ | - Add any extra dice (such as a weapon' | ||
+ | |||
+ | 5. **Roll and resolve the action** | ||
+ | Apply the outcome based on your total roll and the action’s effect. | ||
+ | |||
+ | 6. **Increase your Action Load** | ||
+ | Add the action' | ||
+ | |||
+ | You can keep acting as long as your **Aspect − Action Load** remains **greater than zero** and meets the action’s cost. | ||
+ | |||
+ | <WRAP tip> | ||
+ | Instead of resetting Action Load at the beginning of a creature' | ||
+ | |||
+ | We will definitely be playtesting this idea. | ||
+ | </ | ||
+ | |||
+ | --- | ||
+ | |||
+ | ## ⚖️ Calculating Net Advantage | ||
+ | |||
+ | ### What is Advantage and Disadvantage? | ||
+ | |||
+ | **Advantage** is when something boosts your action. It might be an ability you have from a Feature, because of something in the environment, | ||
+ | |||
+ | **Disadvantage** is when something is hindering your action. | ||
+ | |||
+ | For each instance of Advantage that you have for a particular action, you can add a d4 to your Action Roll. | ||
+ | |||
+ | For each instance of Disadvantage that you have for a particular action, you subtract a d4 from your Action Roll. | ||
+ | |||
+ | Advantage and Disadvantage stack, unlike in D&D 5e and similar systems. This means you can get multiple d4s added to your rolls, but it also means that you could get multiple d4s removed from your rolls. | ||
+ | |||
+ | <WRAP important> | ||
+ | 🔁 **Note:** You can only gain **Advantage** or **Disadvantage** from a single source **once per action**. | ||
+ | Multiple effects from the **same ability**, feature, or condition do **not** stack. | ||
+ | <WRAP notice> | ||
+ | 📘 **Example: | ||
+ | </ | ||
+ | </ | ||
+ | |||
+ | Before making an Aspect Check or other Aspect-based roll, but after determining if the action can be taken, calculate the **Net Advantage**. This is the number of d4s you add to or subtract from your roll. | ||
+ | |||
+ | <WRAP notice> | ||
+ | Example: A character is trying to disable a trap so the game master has them make a Finesse Aspect Check. Their Finesse value is 4 and their Action Load is 0 - the d4 pool is 4. This trap is in a darkly lit dungeon which gives Disadvantage - the d4 pool is now 3. One of the other characters helps by holding a torch, giving Advantage - the d4 pool is now back to 4. Another character assists by peering over their shoulder and giving advice, granting another advantage - the pool is now 5. The player will roll 5d4. | ||
+ | </ | ||
+ | |||
+ | --- | ||
+ | |||
+ | ## 🎲 Resolving the Dice Roll | ||
+ | |||
+ | 🧮 Add all dice together and declare the total. | ||
+ | |||
+ | The GM then either: | ||
+ | |||
+ | - Subtracts the **target’s Evasion** (for attacks) | ||
+ | → The **remainder becomes damage dealt** | ||
+ | |||
+ | - Compares the total to a **Difficulty Class (DC)** | ||
+ | → The **action succeeds** if the total **meets or beats** the DC | ||
+ | |||
+ | <WRAP notice> | ||
+ | 📘 **Example: | ||
+ | Your Finesse is 6 and your Action Load is 2. You want to use a dagger (1d4 damage). | ||
+ | You roll 6 − 2 = **4d4** + **1d4** (damage). | ||
+ | Your total is 14. The GM subtracts the target’s Evasion (e.g. 11). The **remainder is damage dealt**. | ||
+ | </ | ||
+ | |||
+ | --- | ||
+ | |||
+ | ## 🔚 Ending Your Turn | ||
+ | |||
+ | You can **end your turn at any time**, even if you have unused actions. Doing so: | ||
+ | |||
+ | - May allow you to take a **Team Action** later | ||
+ | - Reserves dice for **reactions** or **interrupts** | ||
+ | |||
+ | This encourages tactical planning and collaboration. | ||
+ | |||
+ | --- | ||
+ | |||
+ | ## 🤝 Acting on Other Turns | ||
+ | |||
+ | You may act during **other players’ or enemies’ turns**, if: | ||
+ | |||
+ | - You have remaining dice in a relevant Aspect | ||
+ | - The action is a valid response (e.g., reaction, counter, assist) | ||
+ | |||
+ | These actions: | ||
+ | |||
+ | - Follow the same rules as normal actions | ||
+ | - Use the **current Action Load** | ||
+ | - Increase the **Action Load** afterward | ||
+ | |||
+ | Since your Action Load won’t reset until your next turn, acting during another creature’s turn means you’ll have fewer dice available later. | ||
+ | |||
+ | <WRAP notice> | ||
+ | 📘 **Example: | ||
+ | A goblin attacks your ally. You have an Action Load of 1. | ||
+ | You use a Team Action (cost 1) to impose Disadvantage. | ||
+ | The goblin rolls its attack with disadvantage and you add 1 to your Action Load. | ||
+ | </ | ||
+ | |||
+ | <WRAP tip> | ||
+ | 📝 Unlike traditional systems, you are **not limited to one reaction per round** — act as often as your remaining dice allow. | ||
+ | </ | ||
+ | |||
+ | --- | ||
+ | |||
+ | ## 📝 Additional Notes | ||
+ | |||
+ | - If **Aspect − Action Load ≤ 0**, you **cannot choose** to act using that Aspect. | ||
+ | - If the **GM calls for a roll**, you always roll at least **1d4**, even with a negative Aspect. | ||
+ | - GM-initiated rolls may or may not consider Action Load — this is up to the GM. | ||
+ | - Some abilities have a **Cost of 0 or 1**, enabling small actions even late in the round. | ||
+ | - You may take actions using **different | ||
+ | |||
+ | --- | ||
+ | |||
+ | <WRAP tip> | ||
+ | ✅ For a visual reference on how d4s support fast, intuitive math, see the [[rules: | ||
+ | </ |