Differences
This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.
Both sides previous revisionPrevious revisionNext revision | Previous revision | ||
rules:checks [2025/07/05 20:36] – Ron Helwig | rules:checks [2025/07/10 10:59] (current) – Ron Helwig | ||
---|---|---|---|
Line 2: | Line 2: | ||
====== 🎯 Aspect Checks ====== | ====== 🎯 Aspect Checks ====== | ||
- | **Aspect Checks** are the primary way most actions | + | **Aspect Checks** are the primary way most challenges |
+ | |||
+ | Taking Actions during conflict (i.e. when in Initiative) is [described elsewhere](rules: | ||
--- | --- | ||
Line 15: | Line 17: | ||
- GM will indicate instances of Disadvantage | - GM will indicate instances of Disadvantage | ||
- Players might take reactions, interrupts, or Team Actions that add Advantage instances | - Players might take reactions, interrupts, or Team Actions that add Advantage instances | ||
- | - 🎲 Roll a number of **d4s equal to that Aspect’s value − Action Load + Net Advantage** | + | - You may have Features that give you Advantage |
+ | - 🎲 Roll a number of **d4s equal to that Aspect’s value + Net Advantage** | ||
- ➕ Add all rolled dice together | - ➕ Add all rolled dice together | ||
- 📏 Compare your total to the **Difficulty Class (DC)** | - 📏 Compare your total to the **Difficulty Class (DC)** | ||
Line 25: | Line 28: | ||
===== 🧮 Minimum Dice ===== | ===== 🧮 Minimum Dice ===== | ||
- | If your **Aspect | + | If your **Aspect |
However, if the **GM calls for a roll**, you **always roll at least 1d4**, even if your Aspect is 0 or negative. | However, if the **GM calls for a roll**, you **always roll at least 1d4**, even if your Aspect is 0 or negative. | ||
Line 34: | Line 37: | ||
But if the GM asks you to roll Insight, you still roll **1d4**. | But if the GM asks you to roll Insight, you still roll **1d4**. | ||
</ | </ | ||
- | |||
- | --- | ||
- | |||
- | ===== 🌀 Action Load & Timing ===== | ||
- | |||
- | **On your turn**: | ||
- | |||
- | - Subtract your current **🌀 Action Load** from the **Aspect** value | ||
- | - If the result is positive, you may roll | ||
- | - Add **1 to your Action Load** afterward | ||
- | |||
- | **Outside your turn**: | ||
- | |||
- | - Most checks **ignore Action Load** | ||
- | - Exceptions may apply (e.g., [[rules: | ||
--- | --- | ||
Line 72: | Line 60: | ||
- Use the **highest roll** | - Use the **highest roll** | ||
- Add the **combined total** | - Add the **combined total** | ||
+ | - **Average** the rolls | ||
- Grant a **flat bonus per helper** (e.g., +2) | - Grant a **flat bonus per helper** (e.g., +2) | ||
+ | |||
+ | Which method to determine outcome is up to the GM and how they interpret the situation. | ||
Some [[rules: | Some [[rules: |